Solid Waste Technical Committee Chuck DeJonckheere, R.S. Chair, 2015-2018 Hamilton County Public Health

The solid waste technical committee is engaged with Ohio EPA in both rule making and legislative efforts. Major developments in recent months include:

Vlad Cica, was selected as the new Chief of the Division of Materials and Waste Management. Vlad is a PE and has held several positions within the agency over past 20+ years. We welcome Vlad and look forward to working with him and his staff.

Changes to the Composting and Associated Multi-Program Rules were submitted to JCARR on November 14, 2017.

The 2018 Mosquito Control Grant applications were released with a due date of April 13, 2018. These grants are available to local health departments responsible for implementing mosquito control measures such as surveillance, source reduction, and larval/adult mosquito control measures.

C&DD Rules were filed as final with two effective dates. Financial Assurance 400-13-14&18, Post Closure Care 400-16, Procedures to Extend Post-closure Period 400-17, and Leachate and Groundwater Monitoring 400-20 all have an effective date of February 10, 2018. Other sections such as Definitions 400-01, Operations 400-11, and Operator Certification 400-26 all have an effective date of July 1, 2018. The operator certification program will have much activity in the coming months in formulating core curriculum for the program. A board of health representative is needed on a three-member panel.

Residual Solid Waste and Industrial Solid Waste rules were opened for early stakeholder outreach February 7, 2018.

Ohio EPA Director Butler attended the February 15, 2018 Materials Management Advisory Council meeting where he expressed appreciation for the health department and solid waste district partnerships in the solid waste programs.

The committee continues to participate in discussions and provide comment as necessary. All interested members are encouraged to subscribe to Ohio EPA's listserves to stay informed. If interested in participating in these discussions, or if you feel new laws or rules are needed, please feel free to contact any member of the committee.

Committee Members Tracy Buchanan, R.S. OEPA-SWDO, Dayton

Southwest

Tom Hut, R.S.

Southwest

Public Health—Dayton & Montgomery County, Dayton

Robert Wildey, R.S.

Southwest

Clermont County General Health District

Jeff Gibbs, R.S. Southeast

Franklin County Public Health, Columbus

Julie Brown R.S.

Northeast

Summit County Health Department, Stow

Dave Fetchko

Ryan Tekac Northeast

Mahoning County Health District

Dane Tussel, R.S. Northeast

Cuyahoga County District Board of Health, Parma

John Sabo R.S. Northeast

Lorain County General Health District

Randy Ruszkowski R.S. Northeast

Paul DePasquale, R.S.

Stark County Health Department